Gospel Pass by bike

image

Well I have done it many times on foot whether hiking or camping in the area but I have never done Gospel Pass on a bike before!

As the weather was looking ok-ish and I got up early, I decided to cycle from home to Hay on Wye and then return via Gospel Pass. All in all the ride was 101 miles and took in 6400 feet of climbing. The biggest climb was going from Hay on Wye up to Gospel Pass and was a brute of a climb. Still it was totally worth it as the views are just stunning from around the area.

Back at home now but I confess to being a little tired šŸ™‚ I dont think I will get another big ride like that in this year now that the daylight hours are beginning to shorten (I know its “only” August but Autumn is less than 4 weeks away!). Thorughly enjoyed the ride and the descent off Gospel Pass took in Llanthony Priory on my way back to Abergavenny and eventually home

A really enjoyable ride

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
Image | This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gospel Pass by bike

  1. PhilR says:

    Waht a Superb day, Well done. I would also like to try the Gospel Pass.
    Surely there’s enough daylight for one more mammoth ride?

    • backpackbrewer says:

      mayyyyybe but not counting my eggs yet. I’d love to do another big ride, possibly on my devon weekend šŸ™‚

      Gospel pass definitely worth the visit

Leave a Reply

