2000 cycling miles and counting….

In all the excitement of yesterdays 100 mile ride, I passed another milestone. Yesterday I also passed 2000 miles on the bike for 2013. I am not sure what I am hoping for in terms of a year’s end total but for now I am just happy with my cycling in general. I havent felt this healthy for 20 years and apart from the healthier eating habits alot of it is driven by the cycling. And its not just the weight or the fitness but the feeling of wellbeing that the cycling is giving me. So, 2000 miles, still going strong and loving it.

Here’s to the next 2000

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2000 cycling miles and counting….

  1. MrsBoardwell says:

    Well done! I have recently gone back to living v unhealthily coming up with too many excuses trying to justify why I currently can’t be bothered rather than making an effort. Bad Babs! šŸ˜‰
    What’s the next big goal gonna be for you?

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi Mrs B

      I would dearly love to cycle North to South Wales over a couple of days but its finding the time to fit it in!

      Beyond that I just want to keep cycling and keeping up the fitness. A few walking opportunities would go amiss either

      Next stop, a cycling and camping weekend in Exmoor (soon!)

  2. Ian Barton says:

    Well done Dave. I was overweight in my teenage years and know how hard it is to lose weight. However, I have managed to keep my weight down since I was about 19 and I am now 58. It does require constant vigilance though! I try to adjust my food intake depending on how much exercise I do. Also simple things like never eating puddings help.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      well done you for doing so well over so long a period of time. I can only hope to emulate that. I was lucky as a teenager and young man as I never seemed to put on weight so could scoff what I wanted. Now I have to be oh so choosy over my food intake

      no chocolate bars is my mantra!

      • Ian Barton says:

        I am afraid that I have never been able to overcome my Kit Kat addiction:) However, I almost never eat any other chocolate or biscuits. Also I found it helped to snack on things like Ryvita, or cream crackers when I get the urge to eat between meals. They are relatively low in calories and also quite healthy food.

        • backpackbrewer says:

          good thinking. I gave up all chocolate snack bars, even kit kats!

          In between meals, cups of tea, bananas or a digestive for me

Leave a Reply

