Ouch…..when hornets attack!

image

For those of a nervous disposition……

Whilst riding the bike yesterday, I had a very large winged insect land on my leg and sting me. To say it was painful is an understatement. A quick check on the internet confirmed it was what I thought, a hornet. I am not good with bites at the best of times (horseflies and midges are particular “favourites” of mine!) but this was nasty. I hoped I wouldnt but, 24hours on, its done the old swollen inflamed reaction. The photo doesnt quite do it justice but the bite site is now a 3 inch diameter solid “lump” of swelling. Antihistamines and painkillers will see it off but its a real nasty one this time. Normally I get bitten walking or camping but this is a first for me, cycling at 20mph!

I hate bugs. That is all

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
Image | This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ouch…..when hornets attack!

  1. Got stung by a wasp cycling yesterday. The bugger got pinched between shoe and ankle. Stung me through sock. Same thing as you. Hurt like a bugger yesterday, today ankle swollen up. Thankful mine wasn’t a hornet.
    And they want to cross our bees with African killer bees.
    Are they bloody mad?

    • backpackbrewer says:

      agreed……one hole in the netting of the development lab window and we’ll be overrun!!!!

      leg is like a pumpkin today. Red and sore and ballooned!

Leave a Reply

