Elan Valley Magic

Elan Valley View

Back from a splendid day in the Elan Valley. I cant remember seeing such a beautiful setting for a mountain-come-reservoir road route. Well worth the drive from home and managed to complete a 30mile bike ride, miss the rain, and enjoy a spot of lunch.

Lush

Magic

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Elan Valley Magic

  1. PhilR says:

    Stunning! Very jealous.

  2. Ian Barton says:

    Glad to see the knee has recovered. We took your advice in an earlier post and bought a Giant Defy 2. It’s a great bike and my son (and me) are very happy with it. During the holidays has we out doing around 30 miles per day on it. We also did the first two days of the Way of the Roses, where he seemed to manage the 50-60 mile days including lots of ascent without any problem.

    Time constraints prevented us doing the third day, but I would like to go back and do the whole ride again. If you have never done it, can thoroughly recommend it. You can do it in less than three days, if you like suffering!

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Thats sounds fabulous Ian. We are struggling to go everywhere we want to cycling wise. There just isnt enough time! 🙂 I’ll bare it in mind for future though

      Glad your son likes the Defy. Its a great bike for the money and is well put together, especially the 2. I will certainly be riding mine for a while yet (over winter nd spring), and maybe look at an upgrade next summer.

      or maybe not! 🙂

  3. Felicity says:

    I drove around these roads frightened the life out of me got lost one night- are these not for motor vehicles then – I was even terrified in case the bridges were no longer in good repair – year approx. 2004 thankfully I could see lights in the distance turned out to be Aberysquith opps spelling and back in to civilisation.

Leave a Reply

