Wye Valley Magic – a long ride today…

River Wye at Tintern in the morning mist

A quick post to say ow, ow ,ow, ow, ow, owwwwwwww……..

I went out for a morning ride that took in the Wye Valley, Monmouth, Abergavenny and the Vale of Usk. The weather was great, an early mist gave me the above opportunity for a quick snap with the camera phone as I went through Tintern. All in all a great ride with 73 miles covered and 5000ft of climbing to boot.

Great you might think,

then I went out again in the afternoon for another ride of 32miles and 1500 feet of climb…..I must be mad πŸ˜€

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wye Valley Magic – a long ride today…

  1. Robin says:

    Iron man! Not sure I want to walk with you now you’re super fit πŸ˜‰

    Have you done any backpacking this year? Maybe you should change the name of the blog to cyclingbrewer πŸ˜€

    • backpackbrewer says:

      I know….dont remind me!

      I have done walks and a couple of camping trips but nothing like the same level as last year.

      Dont be fooled, cycle fitness does not necessarily translate to hill fitness (or more specifically long distances by foot)

      thats my excuse anyway πŸ™‚

  2. PhilR says:

    Cracking photo, you really can see some great sights while out and about on the bike. Don’t know about you but with all this recent cycling I’m starting to get walking withdrawal symptoms πŸ™‚

    • backpackbrewer says:

      yes, was thinking the very same to myself the other day. Good news is that autumn/winter are coming up soon and that is probably the time I will do a bit more walking than of late

      photo was taken first thing in the morning as I was riding through Tintern. Brilliant day and lovely area

Leave a Reply

