The lipid results are in……

Its been 18 months in the making: my attempt to reduce my cholesterol, reduce my weight and improve my diet. I started the journey in March 2012 after a particularly disturbing check up with my GP. He indicated my cholesterol was high, I was overweight and needed to take statin medication. In my mid forties, this was a jolt but not entirely unexpected as my little voice had been telling me about it for some time. I cut out chocolate, reduced my snacking, reduced my alcohol, increased my dietary fibre, took up cycling and bought a dog for helping motivate for walking! Fast forward 18 months and I have just had my visit to the lipid clinic and a whole 45 minutes with a very expert consultant. Days like today do restore a little bit of my faith in “the system”. I felt like I had just had a proper adult conversation with someone about something important without being rushed or talked at…

Ok, so whats the verdict? Well, here’s some numbers…

March 2012

Weight – 13 stone 5 lbs
Cholesterol level – 8mg/L
Total Cholesterol to High Density Lipid ratio – 6.0
BMI – 29.3
Blood Pressure – 135/78
Heart rate resting – 70 bpm

October 2013

Weight – 10 stone 5 lbs
Cholesterol level – 6mg/L
Total Cholesterol to High Density Lipid ratio – 4.8
BMI – 22.7
Blood Pressure – 118/65
Heart rate resting – 47 bpm

To say I am pleased is an understatement, but I still have work to do. I need to lose just a few more pounds and also maintain my diet and fitness regime. The TC to HDL ratio puts me only just in “the green zone” for risk but in a few years time when I hit 50, the risk factors go up a notch. In otherwise, I need to keep doing what I am doing and monitor my progress. No let up, no lapse. The numbers dont lie and I am determined to hold the gains. In fact the next time I am measured I hope to reduce my cholesterol just that little bit lower again. Its still too high and obviously there is an underlying genetic reason for itbut in the context of where I was, I’ll take where I am now.

The lipid results are in from my life exam and it feels like a B+

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The lipid results are in……

  1. Well done!! Nuff said:-)

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Thanks Paul. I wont lie, its been hard work but giving myself a good dose of tough love was the right thing to do!

  2. Arby says:

    Yay! Congratulations on the progress!

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Thanks Arby. Progress is the right word. Its not finished yet. I have to keep doing what I am doing (forever!) but I am well chuffed with where I am now 🙂

  3. PhilR says:

    Well done sir, you should be very proud and an excellent advertisement for Cycling and Walking.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Cheers Phil, sounds daft…I am pleased but still feels like a work in progress and definitely has galvanised me to carry on in the same vein for as long as I can

  4. MrsBoardwell says:

    Some pretty impressive numbers there.You have been good though 🙂

  5. You’ve done really well there (although I don’t know anything about the cholesterol level measurements as I’ve never had mine tested). Chocolate is one thing I won’t ever be giving up though! You must have been fairly fit before having a heartrate of 70bpm. I’ve never really got mine down below that no matter how fit I’ve got. I didn’t know a heartrate in the 40s was possible!
    Carol.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      I always used to have a low heart-rate in my teens and twenties. It was the middle aged spread that pushed it up but happy as Larry now its back down again!

      Dont give up the chocolate but I would get the cholesterol checked for sure

  6. Well Done!!!!! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

