Last of the big rides for 2013

102 miles ridden today inspite of the weather, which to be fair was horrible. The weather was so bad and filthy that when I got back it looked like the bike and I had been involved in a chocolate explosion šŸ™‚

Just under 3000 miles completed for the year and also I have now passed 200,000 feet of climbing as well. Not sure if I will be able to do 4000 miles by the end of December but really happy with progress. The added bonus for today was 3500 calories burnt on the ride. Even so I am not going to have any sweets or chocolate but I have had a very good tea šŸ™‚

I cant see me doing anymore super big rides for the rest of 2013 and start of 2014 due to the deteriorating weather and lack of daylight so it felt good to get a “century” ride in

Winter’s a coming……

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Last of the big rides for 2013

  1. Arby says:

    Wow, impressive ride! Even more so because of the ill weather. And it’s just going to get darker and colder.. /sadface

  2. Ian Barton says:

    The clocks have changed and dark nights are now definitely here. We had a lucky escape yesterday. My son decided he wanted to try cycling home from Chester(35 miles), where he does his rowing training. All the way there in the car it was pouring with rain. However, when we got the bikes out of the truck it had stopped. As we cycled back we could see rain behind us and in front, but we managed to stay in the window of clear weather:) We still got caked in mud as everyone is combining their maize, so the roads are covered in it.

    When we got back he decided that 3 hours training plus a 35 mile bike ride were a bit much, so he is sticking to the bus for the moment.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Sensible and a lucky escape yesterday re the weather. I got buffeted and rained on a little but otherwise was ok. Today and tomorrow are completely another kettle of fish however!

  3. backpackbrewer says:

    post script….I lied, having just done 112 miles yesterday and planning even bigger ones over the next few weeks šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

