Signing up for my first Audax ride…….gulp!

Well, thats well and truly done it now. I have just signed up for my very first Audax ride on December 7th. For those that dont know, an Audax is a long distance cycle ride that is all about the distance covered and not the speed. My first Audax is a mighty 200km distance (125 miles) that will take me on a twisting route through the flat costal strip of South Wales before going up through the Wye Valley, circling around Abergavenny before coming back down along the Vale of Usk before finishing at Cardiff.

http://www.aukweb.net/events/detail/13-677/

I’ve done several 100mile rides before but never 125miles in one go. Its a bit of a stretch especially in winter but I’ll give it a go. Of course that does mean I still have 5 weeks in which to train for the event so that I dont look a complete fool! 🙂

Just hope the weather is kind

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Signing up for my first Audax ride…….gulp!

  1. Gary says:

    You’ll have good company

  2. AndrewGills says:

    You’ll love it. Audax is veey chilled compared with other styles of cycling. I rode my first 200km Audax earlier this year after never riding more than 160km (100miles) before and did it without too much drama. So you will be alright too :-). I am totally hooked and can’t recommend Audax highly enough ro anyone interested in cycling and exploring. Can’t wait to read your ride report

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Thanks for the comments Andrew, that makes me a little less nervous. I am not normally one for mass rides etc so if its chilled it’ll help me relax.

      I am already looking at the Audax calendar for the next 12 months and can see a few that I might try if I get on ok with this one

      5 weeks to go…!

  3. PhilR says:

    Never tried one, but sounds like it would be really good fun. I have no doubt at all you will be fine with it, enjoy the ride.

  4. Had planned to do one this year… I guess there is still time 🙂 All the best, hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

