Audax ride a week away…..!

So my Audax ride of 125 miles is only a week and a day away. I am slightly nervous of doing this kind of mileage and slightly nervous of what the weather is going to be like (probably more the weather!). Also I have made a decision to upgrade my current bike instead of buying a new one which is approximately 2/3 the price. The upshot of this is that I can get the upgrade done in time for the audax ride as my current components are beginning to wear out! The bike is in the workshop as I type as the gear system has been complaining recently, although to be fair I have done 3500 miles on cheapish components so cant complain.

Just hope the upgrade can be done in time

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Audax ride a week away…..!

  1. AndrewGills says:

    The Audax ride will be great. I am doing a 200km Audax next week too so will think of you while I am out there. You’ll be hooked πŸ™‚

  2. PhilR says:

    Upgrades, cool!! what you getting Ultegra Di2??? πŸ˜€
    All the best with the Audax. Another long training ride this weekend to test the new components?
    Sadly I pulled a muscle up in the Lakes last week, so hoping it will clear in time for a ride on Sunday.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      in my dreams! I did look at the “standard” Ultegra 6800 which has nearly halved in price since its launch this year …! In the end I went for the balanced approach and am getting full 105 (not mix and match with Tiagra as some “105” bikes come with). The shop I am getting it off are doing me a ridiculously good deal on the whole thing. New wheels (Campag Ventos) are also following soon. Still half the price of a new bike

      Hope the muscle gets better. I am taking it easy this weekend and doing short rides to keep the muscles in trim ready for next Saturday

Leave a Reply

