The bike is back part 2……now with added pictures

New wheels and new groupset

New wheels and new groupset

The bike now in full glory of upgrade (before my Audax ride I hasten to add!)

Shiny new cassette and rear derailleur

Shiny new cassette and rear derailleur

It’ll never look this good again!

Front derailleur and crankset

Front derailleur and crankset

precision engineering!

Campagnolo Wheels :)(Shimano freehub)

Campagnolo Wheels :)(Shimano freehub)

Lovely Campag wheels

So there you have it, the bike all decked out ready for riding. Of course, as I write this I have already completed my Audax ride but as I havent uploaded the pictures yet, I’ll post a review of it shortly 🙂

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The bike is back part 2……now with added pictures

  1. Bob says:

    Shimano Groupset, Campag Wheels……….tut, tut :-)!

  2. Ian Barton says:

    Well done on completing the Audax. Wish my bike looked that clean! Serious chain de-gunking and general mud and muck removal session tomorrow following the last couple of days on wet muddy roads.

    • backpackbrewer says:

      I try to keep my bike clean and am pretty good after rides. The chain I keep clean with a chain cleaner gismo and the cassette with industrial wipes

  3. AndrewGills says:

    There’s almost nothing as good as a freshly cleaned and upgraded bike is there 🙂

    Do you change your own chain and cassette? If not, I definitely recommend learning how because it is so nice to replace it every 4-6 months (it’s so cheap to buy the parts online and do the job yourself compared with paying for someone else to do it).

    Looking forward to your Audax ride report 🙂

  4. PhilR says:

    Very Nice! I bet it didn’t look that clean on Staurday evening after 125 miles.

  5. Very nice! You’d best be able to ride fast though…I imagine all the lycra clad purists will be chasing you down waving their pitchforks and burning torches for mixing Campag and Shimano lol.

    I like the Defy, it’s a great bike. I ride an older and lesser model. Best upgrades I ever did were to swap out the heavy stock wheels for lighter ones (Miche somethings in my case) and getting rid of the Sora shifters with the thumb lever.

    Can I ask what mud guards you’ve got on there are? I eventually fitted crud road racers to mine but they are very floppy, I’d like something a little more sturdy but can’t find anything to fit.

    Again nice ride even if you are shaming me into cleaning mine 🙂

    • backpackbrewer says:

      thanks for the comments and yes Campag and Shimano mixing is a little naughty but then again, Fulcrum wheels are actually made by Campag!

      The mud guards are Giant specific ie made by Giant for the Defy series. Some people dont like them but I’ve found them to be excellent. The only downside is that they do rattle a little bit but then again they are full sized!

Leave a Reply

