Black Ice tumble on the bike

It had to happen. Went out for a ride with the Brother in Law and after a lovely climb up through Wentwood we decided to descend back down through Chepstow Woods to Shirenewton. Unfortunately the combination of rain overnight and freezing temperatures this morning meant that there was a thin sliver of black ice on the main road we took. Cycling down at a very steady pace I heard my Brother in Law slam into the road as the bike slid from under him. Half in sympathy as I slowed to turn the bike round to go back I too went down. Fortunately I only took a very minor tumble and slid a few feet, the bike being virtually untouched. Unfortunately my Brother in Law took a clunk to the arm and the head and bent his derailleur hanger quite badly. Badly enough to defeat any attempts to get the bike in working order. I had to ride a number of miles to get a phone signal and organise a rescue pick up for him before continuing my way on home.

Ā 

Luckily he’s fine but it was a scary incident and one I am not keen to repeat! Ā 

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Black Ice tumble on the bike

  1. Bob Andrews says:

    Spooky, my brother in law came off his bike today on black ice, thankfully only pride got hurt.

    Hope your brother in law is OK

    • Backpacks and Saddlebags - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

      he’s ok but had a jolt and couldnt remember coming off so I was worried for a time but he’s fine now

  2. Ouch, this and the countless recounts of similar tumbles on the road/commuting forums made me put my steed away since that last wee cold snap we had.

    I can almost feel my (limited) fitness ebb away but I’m not risking a fall in traffic here. I just wish it would snow proper so’s I can feel smug in the old Landy!

    Hope you, your brother and his bike heal up quickly.

  3. Robin says:

    Ouch. Lesson learnt. Stick to backpacking šŸ˜‰

    • Backpacks and Saddlebags - a brewer's outdoor adventures says:

      I’ll remind you of that statemeet next time your tent gets inverted in a gale šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

