My Favourite Outdoor Places – what’s yours?

What are your favourite outdoor places? Do you hanker after wild areas, hills, rivers, specific mountains or “just so” spots? I am thinking specifically about the UK and certainly in terms of my top five places. Everyone will have a different view of what constitutes their favourite places and why. For some theirs is due to a memory, for others a beautiful view, for others still a place far from the madding crowd. For me, my list is as follows

1. Carnedd Llewellyn – North Wales

The highest and best wildcamp I have ever done, in great company with fabulous weather

2. Kirk Fell – Lake District

A great spot in a superb area. Cant fail to find something to like in this area whether it is high wildcamping, challenging climbs or just scenery gazing

3. Twmpa – Brecon Beacons

A quiet and often overlooked area of the Brecon Beacons (in fact the Black Mountains in general). Miles of stunning escarpment with opportunities for ridge walking and wildcamping

4. Nun’s Cross – Dartmoor

Solitude and dramatic landscapes abound around Nun’s Cross just dont get lost on the moors in the fog…..!

5. Nant y Moch – Mid Wales

The most remote, lonely and yet brilliantly uplifting place in Wales. A truly inspiring landscape now under threat from windfarms

All the above are places I have obviously visited and grown to love in the course of walking and camping. A lot of you will comment that I have no places in Scotland in my list. Quite simply I haven’t been beyond a few small hills in Scotland. I am hoping to change that as soon as I can re Scotland and then maybe I will have other places to add to my favourite list.

That’s my list, what’s yours?

About Saddlebags and Backpacks - a brewer's outdoor adventures

I am a keen hiker, camper, cyclist and general all round gear addict..... I also manage to be a professional brewer in my non-spare time :->
This entry was posted in General chit chat. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Favourite Outdoor Places – what’s yours?

  1. David says:

    All these places look superb backpackbrewer (what is your real name???)!

    I would have real difficulty choosing my own favourite place, there are so many. Lots of these are in the Lakes, and I think mood, time of year, weather and so on all make a difference. So I go off to Scotland this August and September, or to the Berwyns last week or Shropshire this week and I am reminded just how many beautiful places there are in the UK and what variety there is. I suppose if pushed I would have to say that a read of my blog post of a year ago would give the game away
    http://fellbound.blogspot.co.uk/2011/11/love-at-first-sight.html

    David (www.fellbound.co.uk)

    • backpackbrewer says:

      Hi David, my real name is Dave 🙂

      You get around a bit by the looks of things! Thanks for the link to the blog btw, I’ll add it to my blogroll

      Everyone has a different special place or places and that’s the beauty of it. We all attach special meaning to what we see or experience. The UK is such a big place in terms of what there is to see. It still amazes me even now! I just hope I get to see more of Scotland as I know I will end up adding a favourite place or two from there to my list

  2. Rocky says:

    Scotland’s easy, just wake up three hours earlier than you would for a trip to North Wales and be prepared to get back a bit late. An extra day does help admittedly! :o)

    • backpackbrewer says:

      thanks Rocky! Easy for you to say you live nearer!!! 😀

      I get the sentiment and you’re right, just get up earlier. Scotland does need to be done properly in my eyes though. I would need 2 full days + travel either side to make it reasonably worthwhile and preferably 3 full days

      One day……..

  3. dexey says:

    Always SW Shropshire. I like my hills reasonable, my weather mild (mostly), and the natives friendly.

  4. Blogger Zed says:

    If you can ever get to Assynt when the sun is shining, it’s a stunning place. Loads of potential for wild camps, some challenging hills, a rocky coastline and masses of photogenic scenery. Must get back soon.

  5. Some great views here, it jsut reminds me that i need to get out with my camera more…

Leave a comment